Arizona's Medical Marijuana Program requires qualified patients to register for a card to access and possess medical marijuana. Patients can choose to obtain marijuana from state licensed dispensaries or those who are more than 25 miles from a dispensary can apply to cultivate. Arizona's program also allows for patient to patient sharing.
01. What medical conditions will qualify a patient for medical marijuana?
The approved medical conditions for Arizona's medical marijuana program include: cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, ALS, Crohn's disease, agitation of alzheimer's disease, cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe and chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, epilepsy, severe muscle spasms, and multiple sclerosis.
02. What documentation do I need from the recommending physician to provide with my application?
A physician is required to fill out a certification form.
03. Who can write a medical marijuana certification for a patient?
An Arizona licensed medical doctor, doctor of osteopathy, doctor of homeopathy, or a doctor of naturopathy can fill out the medical marijuana certification.
04. How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card?
The standard fee is $150 for the registration and some patients qualify for a reduced fee of $75.
05. Can minors register in the program?
Yes, however a parent or legal guardian must consent to the registration by filling out an additional form.
06. What is the possession limit?
The possession limit is 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana during any fourteen-day period and if the registry identification card states that the qualifying patient is authorized to cultivate marijuana, 12 marijuana plants.
07. Is registration optional or mandatory?
Registration is mandatory in Arizona to benefit from the protections of the law.
08. Does the state honor other states' registries?
Yes, Arizona provides the same legal protections to registered cardholders of other states.
09. Can I choose any dispensary or do I have to designate a specific one?
Registered cardholders can choose to obtain medical marijuana from any of the licensed dispensaries statewide.
10. Can a physician revoke a patient's written certification?
Yes, a process of written notification is laid out for physicians who wish to notify the Arizona Department of Health Services of medical reasons for the patient to no longer utilize medical marijuana.
11. How do I renew my card?
Renewals require the same initial forms and updated information. The cost for a renewal is $75
12. What happens if I lose my card?
The fee to replace a lost card is $10 and patients can either contact the department or use the lost/stolen application feature.
13. How does the state law work with federal laws?
It is important to recognize that these state marijuana laws do not change the fact that using marijuana continues to be an offense under Federal law.
14. How can I become a designated caregiver?
A patient must designate a caregiver on their application form or update their application to designate one. A caregiver must then fill out a separate application form and provide additional information including fingerprints and photos.
15. If I am a designated caregiver, can I grow marijuana?
Yes, caregivers can grow marijuana on behalf of their qualified patients up to 12 plants per patient if a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary is not operating within twenty-five miles of the qualifying patient's home.
16. Can I be both a qualifying patient and a designated caregiver?
Yes, designated caregivers can also be qualifying patients.
17. How do dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives work?
Arizona has a dispensary program which requires dispensaries to be approved and licensed by the state. Arizona dispensaries operate on a not-for-profit basis and licenses are limited based on a 1 to 10 ratio of pharmacy permits issued by the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy. Additional rules apply.
18. How many dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives are allowed?
Dispensary licenses are issued on a 1 to 10 ratio of pharmacy permits issued by the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy.
19. Who can cultivate marijuana?
A qualifying patient or their designated caregiver can cultivate marijuana if a dispensary is not operating within twenty five miles of the patient's home. Dispensaries are also issued the right to cultivate either at their location or at a cultivation site as it must be in compliance with zoning restrictions.
20. What rules apply to cultivation facilities?
Several rules apply to non-patient and non-caregiver cultivation facilities including zoning restrictions. All cultivators must only grow marijuana in an enclosed, locked facility.
Click Here to Visit AZ Program Website