Colorado offers both a medical marijuana and recreational program. The recreational program serves adults over the age of 21 while the medical marijuana program is limited to marijuana registry card holding patients.
01. What medical conditions will qualify a patient for medical marijuana?
The approved medical conditions for Colorado's medical marijuana program include: cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, cachexia, persistent muscle spasms, seizures, severe nausea, severe pain.
02. What documentation do I need from the recommending physician to provide with my application?
A physician certification is required denoting the qualifying condition and signed by a physician is required as part of the application process.
03. Who can write a medical marijuana certification for a patient?
A Colorado licensed doctor of medicine or doctor of osteopathy with a valid and unrestricted US DEA registration to administer controlled substances. The physician must also have a bona-fied physician patient relationship.
04. How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card?
There is a $15 application fee. The fee may be waived if economic hardship proof is provided as outlined on the application.
05. Can minors register in the program?
Yes, minors under 18 can register, but must fill out a separate form which includes consent from parents or legal guardians and two physician certifications from two different doctors.
06. What is the possession limit?
The possession limit is no more than two ounces of useable marijuana and no more than six marijuana plants with three of those plants as mature.
07. Is registration optional or mandatory?
Registration is mandatory in Colorado to benefit from the protections of the law.
08. Does the state honor other states' registries?
No, Colorado has no reciprocity agreements with other states.
09. Can I choose any dispensary or do I have to designate a specific one?
Colorado's program allows for licensed medical marijuana facilities. Registered patients designate a medical marijuana center of their choice and can update their designated center once per month.
10. Can a physician revoke a patient's written certification?
There is no revocation process outlined for physicians, but patients are required under law to update the registry in the event that they no longer qualify as a patient.
11. How do I renew my card?
The renewal process is the same as the initial application process. Registry cards are valid for one year and the recommendation is to renew within 45 days of expiration.
12. What happens if I lose my card?
Colorado requires a form to be filled out and sent to the registry for a lost or stolen card. There is no fee for replacement.
13. How does the state law work with federal laws?
It is important to recognize that these state marijuana laws do not change the fact that using marijuana continues to be an offense under Federal law.
14. How can I become a designated caregiver?
A caregiver must be over the age of 18 and designated by a qualified patient on their application form. Colorado provides a voluntary registry where applicants can find qualified caregivers as well.
15. If I am a designated caregiver, can I grow marijuana?
Yes, designated caregivers can grow marijuana on behalf of their patient, but also must register their grow sites with the Department of Revenue.
16. Can I be both a qualifying patient and a designated caregiver?
There are no restrictions for caregivers from being able to also register as a qualifying patient outlined, please contact the registry for more information.
17. How do dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives work?
Colorado has a medical marijuana center program. Centers are required to register through the Department of Revenue and patients are to designate a preferred medical marijuana center. Centers can register as a retail operation or have optional on-premise cultivation. A separate registration is required for medical marijuana infused product manufacturing. Several rules and laws apply to the operation of these centers including local zoning and local laws.
18. How many dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives are allowed?
A limit is not outlined.
19. Who can cultivate marijuana?
Caregivers, patients, and registered medical marijuana centers with cultivation permits can cultivate marijuana. Caregivers and medical marijuana centers must register the grow sites through the Department of Revenue.
20. What rules apply to cultivation facilities?
Several rules and requirements apply to medical marijuana center cultivation including security measurements. Caregivers must register an address which is kept confidential.
Click Here to Visit CO Program Website