The Illinois Medical Marijuana program calls for licensed dispensaries and for patients to be part of the registry. Applications for dispensaries have not yet been fully approved, but the program should be operational in 2015.
01. What medical conditions will qualify a patient for medical marijuana?
The approved medical conditions for Illinois' medical marijuana program include: Cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, Cachexia/Wasting Syndrome, muscular dystrophy, severe fibromyalgia, spinal cord disease or injury, Tarlov cysts, hydroyleia, syringomyelia, Rheumatoid arthritis, fibrous dysplasia, traumatic brain injury and post-concussion syndrome, Multple Sclerosis, Parkinsons' disease, Arnold-Chiara malformation and Syringomelia, Spincerebellar Ataxia, Tourette's syndrome, Myloclonus, Dystonia, Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy, Complex Regional Paine Syndreoms Type I and Type II, Causalgia, Neurofibromatosis, Chronic Inflammatory Demyelinating Ployneuropathy, Sjogren's syndrome, Lupus, Interstitial Cystitis, Myasthenia Gravis, Hydrocephauls, nail-patella syndrome, residual limb pain.
02. What documentation do I need from the recommending physician to provide with my application?
A physician must provide a written certification for the use of medical cannabis to the patient.
03. Who can write a medical marijuana certification for a patient?
Only a licensed doctor of medicine or osteopathy who is in good standing and has a licensed under Artilce III of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act and a Drug Enforcement Agency registration can write a medical marijuana certification. The physician must also have a bona-fide physician patient relationship and is responsible for the ongoing treatment of the patient.
04. How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card?
The annual application fee is $100 for qualifying patients.
05. Can minors register in the program?
No, the Illinois program requires patients to be at least 18 years of age.
06. What is the possession limit?
The Illinois program allows for patients to obtain and transport an adequate supply which means 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana during a period of 14 days.
07. Is registration optional or mandatory?
Registration is mandatory in Illinois to benefit from the protections of the law.
08. Does the state honor other states' registries?
No, Illinois has no reciprocity agreements with other states outlined.
09. Can I choose any dispensary or do I have to designate a specific one?
Patients must designate a dispensary on their application. Patients can change dispensaries, but must provide a new change of information form.
10. an a physician revoke a patient's written certification?
A revoking process is not outlined in the Michigan program, but certifying physicians are responsible for follow up and ongoing care. Patients are required to notify the registry within 10 days if they no longer meet the patient qualifications.
11. How do I renew my card?
The renewal process is the same as the application process and the fee is the same as the initial application fee of $100. Certain criteria such as Disablity or veteran service may qualify a patient for a reduced fee of $50.
12. What happens if I lose my card?
A form and fee of $25 must be sent to the registry for a replacement card.
13. How does the state law work with federal laws?
It is important to recognize that these state marijuana laws do not change the fact that using marijuana continues to be an offense under Federal law.
14. How can I become a designated caregiver?
A patient can designate a caregiver and the caregiver must provide the application form as well as fingerprints. The caregiver application fee is $25
15. If I am a designated caregiver, can I grow marijuana?
A caregiver can only obtain or possess usable marijuana on behalf of a qualified patient. Patients and caregivers cannot cultivate marijuana.
16. Can I be both a qualifying patient and a designated caregiver?
Yes, there are no restrictions for caregivers from being able to also register as a qualifying patient, however, possession limits per person still apply.
17. How do dispensaries, cooperatives and collectives work?
Illinois has outlined a dispensary program. Patients must designate a dispensary of their choice on their application. Several rules and requirements apply to becoming a licensed dispensary in Illinois.
18. How many dispensaries are allowed?
There a limitations based on the number of authorizations in each district, but there is a total maximum of 60 authorizations for dispensaries allowed.
19. Who can cultivate marijuana?
Only cultivation centers granted permits can cultivate marijuana in Illinois.
20. What rules apply to cultivation facilities?
Cultivation facilities must obtain a permit. Several additional rules apply to cultivation facilities.
Click Here to Visit IL Program Website