Maine's medical marijuana program requires patients to join the registry and designate a single dispensary as their preferred location to access medical marijuana. Patients can also designate a caregiver.
01. What medical conditions will qualify a patient for medical marijuana?
The approved medical conditions for Maine's medical marijuana program include: cancer, galucoma, ALS, Crohn's Disease, HIV, AIDS, hepatitis C, agitation of Alzheimer's disease, nai-patella syndrome, intractable pain, cachexia, severe nausea, seizures, epilepsy, muscle spasms, multiple sclerosis. Physicians can petition for additional conditions.
02. What documentation do I need from the recommending physician to provide with my application?
A physician must fill out the certification form.
03. Who can write a medical marijuana certification for a patient?
Only a physician with a bona-fide patient physician relationship can certify a patient. The physician must be licensed by the Maine Osteopathic Licensure or by the Board of Licensure in Medicine. The license must be in good standing and the physician must hold a valid Drug Enforcement Administration license to prescribe drugs.
04. How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card?
There is no fee to register.
05. Can minors register in the program?
Yes, the parent or legal guardian must also provide information and consent on the application form.
06. What is the possession limit?
A qualifying patient may possess up to two and one half ounces of usable marijuana, cultivate a maximum of six mature plants, and up to 12 female nonflowering plants.
07. Is registration optional or mandatory?
Registration is optional, but patients must have a physician certification form.
08. Does the state honor other states' registries?
Yes, but patients from other states must also possess a valid Maine-approved written physician certification form, have their state medical marijuana registration card, and another form of photo ID.
09. Can I choose any dispensary or do I have to designate a specific one?
Registered patients must designate a dispensary or a caregiver to cultivate marijuana for the patient's use.
10. Can a physician revoke a patient's written certification?
A physician is required to re-certify a patient after one year through the application process.
11. How do I renew my card?
Physician certifications expire after one year and patients must re-submit their application form and new certification from a physician through the original process.
12. What happens if I lose my card?
Card holders are required to notify the Department of Health and Human Services within 10 days and a new card will be issued. The department can be reached at 1-855-355-4325
13. How does the state law work with federal laws?
It is important to recognize that these state marijuana laws do not change the fact that using marijuana continues to be an offense under Federal law.
14. How can I become a designated caregiver?
To become a designated caregiver, a qualifying patient must designate the caregiver on their application form and the caregiver must fill out an application form. The caregiver must identify if they will be growing or NOT growing. If a caregiver will be growing marijuana, a cultivation fee of $300 is required per patient. Background check fees also apply.
15. If I am a designated caregiver, can I grow marijuana?
Yes, a $300 per patient cultivation fee applies.
16. Can I be both a qualifying patient and a designated caregiver?
There are no restrictions for caregivers from being able to also register as a qualifying patient outlined, however, possession limits per person still apply.
17. How do dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives work?
Main has a dispensary program only. A dispensary must be registered under the rules of the Maine medical marijuana program and operate as a not-for-profit. Patients who choose not to grow marijuana plants themselves, must designate either a caregiver or dispensary to cultivate marijuana on their behalf. Several additional rules apply to dispensaries.
18. How many dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives are allowed?
The first year of operation of dispensaries limits 1 dispensary per eight public health districts.
19. Who can cultivate marijuana?
A registered patient can cultivate marijuana or a patient can designate either a caregiver or a dispensary to cultivate marijuana on their behalf. Limits per patient apply.
20. What rules apply to cultivation facilities?
Whether it's a patient, caregiver or dispensary cultivating marijuana the possession limits per patient apply. Excess unused marijuana can be furnished from one patient to another qualifying patient within their limits. Patients must do so without the transfer of value and dispensaries. Caregivers can furnish other caregivers or dispensaries in the same manner. Dispensaries can offer excess unused marijuana to patients who cannot afford the purchase at no cost.
Click Here to Visit ME Program Website