New Jersey has a medical marijuana program where qualified patients can receive prescription like recommendations for 30 to 90 day periods at a time. The medical marijuana is allowed for sale by licensed dispensaries in the state.
01. What medical conditions will qualify a patient for medical marijuana?
The approved medical conditions for New Jersey's medical marijuana program include: Amytopphic lateral sclerosis, multiple sclerosis, terminal cancer, muscular dystrophy, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Crohn's disease, Terminal illness. Epilepsy, seizure disorders, glaucoma, and intractable skeletal muscular spasticity are also approved if the patient is resistant to or intolerant of other treatments. Severe or chronic pain, nausea, and cachexia resulting from HIV/AIDS and cancer or treatments of those conditions are also approved.
02. What documentation do I need from the recommending physician to provide with my application?
Physicians who are registered with the state program and whom you have a bonafide physician-patient relationship with can certify your patient application online by adding a statement.
03. Who can write a medical marijuana certification for a patient?
Only New Jersey licensed physicians who have a bona fide patient doctor relationship and who are registered with the state Medical Marijuana Program can certify a patient's application.
04. How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card?
The fee is $200 for registration. Certain patients can qualify for assistance and pay a fee of $20.
05. Can minors register in the program?
Yes, minors can register in the program with permission from a guardian and the guardian must register as their caregiver.
06. What is the possession limit?
A physician determines the proper dosage, but the maximum amount allowed is 2 ounces in a 30 day period.
07. Is registration optional or mandatory?
Registration is mandatory for all patients seeking legal protection under New Jersey law.
08. Does the state honor other states' registries?
No, New Jersey has no reciprocity agreements with other states.
09. Can I choose any dispensary or do I have to designate a specific one?
The New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program requires patients to register with a specific Alternative Treatment Center. Patients can switch their Alternative Treatment Center online at any time.
10. Can a physician revoke a patient's written certification?
Physicians select the period of time of up to 90 days for a patient to use medical marijuana and re-assess the ongoing use for every 30, 60 or 90 days.
11. How do I renew my card?
The registration card is valid for two years, however physician certifications expire either every 30, 60 or 90 days and physicians must re-certify the patient.
12. What happens if I lose my card?
Patients must notify the New Jersey MMP and pay a fee of $10 for a replacement card.
13. How does the state law work with federal laws?
It is important to recognize that these state marijuana laws do not change the fact that using marijuana continues to be an offense under Federal law.
14. How can I become a designated caregiver?
A caregiver can be added by the patient at the time of application or online at a later time. There is a $200 caregiver application fee.
15. If I am a designated caregiver, can I grow marijuana?
New Jersey's medical marijuana program does not allow caregivers or patients to cultivate marijuana. Marijuana must be acquired from an Alternative Treatment Center.
16. Can I be both a qualifying patient and a designated caregiver?
Yes, there are no restrictions for caregivers from being able to also register as a qualifying patient, however, possession limits per person still apply.
17. How do dispensaries, cooperatives and collectives work?
The New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program allows for Alternative Treatment Centers. ATC's are permitted to grow and provided registered patient with medical marijuana. An application process, zoning codes, and other rules apply. ATC's are now allowed to deliver. Patients must register with a specific ATC and must schedule an appointment.
18. How many dispensaries are allowed?
Six Alternative Treatment Centers have been allowed to open. Additional applications are not being processed at this time.
19. Who can cultivate marijuana?
Only permitted Alternative Treatment Centers can cultivate marijuana for medical marijuana use under the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program.
20. What rules apply to cultivation facilities?
The New Jersey Medical Marijuana rules for the Alternative Treatment Centers and cultivation of marijuana are not available online.
Click Here to Visit NJ Program Website