Rhode Island has a medical marijuana program where patients can designate up to two dispensaries or one dispensary and one caregiver as their access point for medical marijuana. The state of Rhode Island currently has 3 licensed dispensaries to serve patients.
01. What medical conditions will qualify a patient for medical marijuana?
The approved medical conditions for Rhode Island's medical marijuana program include: cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis c, cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe chronic pain, severe nausea, epilepsy, muscle spasms, multiple sclerosis, Crohn's disease, agitation of Azheimer's Disease, or additional medical conditions approved by the Department of Health.
02. What documentation do I need from the recommending physician to provide with my application?
A recommending physician must fill out the practitioner form in the patient application packet identifying the qualified condition.
03. Who can write a medical marijuana certification for a patient?
A licensed physician in the states of Rhode Island, Massachusetts, or Connecticut can fill out the practicing physician form. The physician must hold a license to prescribe drugs.
04. How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card?
The fee for registration is $100 or $25 if the applicant is a recipient of Medicaid.
05. Can minors register in the program?
Yes, minors can register in the program, but they must also designate a parent or legal guardian as their caregiver, a minor form must be completed, and the parent or guardian must register as a caregiver.
06. What is the possession limit?
A patient is limited to two and one half ounces of usable marijuana and twelve mature plants.
07. Is registration optional or mandatory?
Registration is mandatory for patients to enjoy the benefits of the law.
08. Does the state honor other states' registries?
Yes, Rhode Island recognizes registration identification cards issued under the laws of other states and provides for the protections under the Rhode Island law.
09. Can I choose any dispensary or do I have to designate a specific one?
Patients must select and disclose the Compassion Center Caregiver of their choice as a dispensary of medical marijuana. The current application lists two and allows for two compassion centers to be selected.
10. Can a physician revoke a patient's written certification?
Registry cards are valid for two years at that time a new physician recommendation form must be filled out. There is no process outlined for revoking a patient's recommendation by a physician, however, the Department of Health can revoke registration for violation of the provisions of the Act. Patients are required to update the department with changes including changes in medical conditions which would disqualify them from the program.
11. How do I renew my card?
Registry cards are valid for two years and both patients and physicians are mailed a renewal form sixty days before expiration. Patients without the form must e-mail the Rhode Island Registry at mmp AT health.ri.gov to obtain the renewal form.
12. What happens if I lose my card?
There is a $25 re-print fee and the registry should be contacted immediately at mmp AT health.ri.gov
13. How does the state law work with federal laws?
It is important to recognize that these state marijuana laws do not change the fact that using marijuana continues to be an offense under Federal law.
14. How can I become a designated caregiver?
A patient can designate a caregiver on their application form and a background check is required. There is a $200 fee for the caregiver application or a $25 fee if the caregiver is a recipient of Medicaid. Caregivers are limited to 5 patients.
15. If I am a designated caregiver, can I grow marijuana?
Yes caregivers can cultivate. Possession limits per patient apply.
16. Can I be both a qualifying patient and a designated caregiver?
Rhode Island does not outline any restrictions preventing a qualifying patient to also act as a caregiver.
17. How do dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives work?
Rhode Island allows patients to designate two registered compassion centers on their application form. Rhode Island has a compassion center program which allows registered not-for profit compassion centers to cultivate marijuana for their registered patients needs. Possession limits for compassion centers apply.
18. How many dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives are allowed?
A maximum number of dispensaries is not outlined.
19. Who can cultivate marijuana?
Patients, qualified caregivers, and compassion centers can cultivate marijuana. Possession limits apply.
20. What rules apply to cultivation facilities?
Compassion centers have to abide by several rules include possession limits to not exceed the total per registered patient possession amount. Compassion centers cannot dispense more than 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana per patient per 14 day period. Several additional rules apply.
Click Here to Visit RI Program Website