The Vermont Marijuana Registry (VMR) is a program located within the Department of Public Safety whose purpose is to implement the provisions of 18 V.S.A. Chapter 86, Therapeutic Use of Cannabis, as they pertain to registered patients, caregivers, and the creation and operation of four dispensaries. The VMR’s primary purpose is to assist individuals applying for a registry identification card and oversee the operations of the four registered dispensaries in Vermont that provide marijuana for symptom relief to registered patients.
01. What medical conditions will qualify a patient for medical marijuana?
The approved medical conditions for Vermont's medical marijuana program include: cancer, AIDS, HIV, multiple sclerosis, cachexia, wasting syndrome, severe and chornic pain, severe and chronic nausea, seizures.
02. How do I register?
In order to become a “registered patient” with the Vermont Marijuana Registry you must complete the application that is attached or appears at the end of this document if you are reading it on the Registry web site. If you are reading this document on the Registry web site you may download and print a copy of the form. Paper copies of the form may be completed with a typewriter or by hand. The form must be completed in ink. You will be responsible for completing most of the form. However, part of the form will need to be completed by your health care provider. Your health care provider must be licensed to practice in Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts or New York in order to complete the form. After all sections of the form are completed you will need to have it notarized. You are also required to provide a digital photograph of yourself for your Marijuana Registry Identification Card. Mail the completed form (faxes are not acceptable) along with the other required items to the Vermont Marijuana Registry at the address provided on the form. The Registry will process your application within 30 days after your application is complete. If your application is approved you will be notified in writing and receive a Marijuana Registry Identification Card. If your application is denied you will be notified in writing and be advised of your right to appeal the denial. Registrations are issued for one year and are renewable. A new application packet (forms, fee and photo) must be submitted for each renewal request. The Registry will notify you when it’s time to renew your registration. Please Note: VSP stations are not available to take the photograph that will accompany your application. You may get your picture taken anywhere that offers passport photographs or any private individual with a digital camera can take the picture. The file submitted must be in .jpg format.
03. Who can write a medical marijuana certification for a patient?
A licensed health care provider in Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, or New York can fill out the form or medical records from their facilities can be supplied.
04. How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card?
There is a $50 fee for each application.
05. Can minors register in the program?
Yes, but the parent or guardian must also sign the application
06. What is the possession limit?
Yes, no more than two ounces of usable marijuana, two mature plants, and seven immature plants.
07. Is registration optional or mandatory?
Registration is mandatory in Vermont to benefit from the protections of the law.
08. Does the state honor other states' registries?
No, Vermont has no reciprocity agreements with other states.
09. Can I choose any dispensary or do I have to designate a specific one?
Registered patients must designate a dispensary through a procurement form.
10. Can a physician revoke a patient's written certification?
A physician is required to re-certify a patient after one year or updated medical documents must be provided through the application process. There is no revocation process outlined.
11. How do I renew my card?
A physician is required to re-certify a patient after one year or updated medical records can be provided through the normal application process.
12. What happens if I lose my card?
Vermont Registry does not outline a process for lost or stolen cards. Contact the registry directly at 802-241-5115
13. How does the state law work with federal laws?
It is important to recognize that these state marijuana laws do not change the fact that using marijuana continues to be an offense under Federal law.
14. How can I become a designated caregiver?
A caregiver must be at least 21 years old and designated by the applicant. The caregiver must also fill out an application form, agree to a criminal background check and pay a $50 fee.
15. If I am a designated caregiver, can I grow marijuana?
Yes, if the patient designated the caregiver's address as the grow location on their application. Possession limits apply.
16. Can I be both a qualifying patient and a designated caregiver?
There are no restrictions for caregivers from being able to also register as a qualifying patient outlined, please contact the registry for more information.
17. How do dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives work?
Patients must select a dispensary that they choose to receive their medical marijuana from via a procurement form. A dispensary must be registered with the state and follow several rules under the law.
18. How many dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives are allowed?
A limit is not outlined, but the procurement form identifies 4 dispensaries.
19. Who can cultivate marijuana?
Registered patients or caregivers on behalf of the patient can cultivate marijuana within the possession limits, but the indoor location must be disclosed on the original patient application. Registered dispensaries can also cultivate marijuana and are subject to other limits.
20. What rules apply to cultivation facilities?
Patients and caregivers can only grow at the designated indoor location selected on the patient's application. Possession limits apply. Registered dispensaries can also cultivate and are limited to 28 mature plants, 98 immature plants, and 28 ounces of usable marijuana. Several other rules apply to registered dispensaries.
Click Here to Visit VT Program Website