Connecticut has a regulated medical marijuana program in which 6 dispensaries have been licensed to operate. Registered card-holding patients must also designate a single dispensary from which they prefer to obtain their medical marijuana. The Connecticut Marijuana Program does not allow for cannabis products to be opened in the dispensaries and prohibits the use of street names for strains.
01. What medical conditions will qualify a patient for medical marijuana?
The approved medical conditions for Connecticut's medical marijuana program include: cancer, glaucoma, HIV, AIDS, Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis, epilepsy, cachexia, wasting syndrome, Crohn's disease, PTSD, nercous system or spinal chord damage with intractable spasticity.
02. What documentation do I need from the recommending physician to provide with my application?
The recommending physician must initiate the application process for the patient, so the first step is to make an appointment with a qualified physician. Physician register a patient through a portal after establishing a relationship with the patient and certifies that the patient meets the qualified conditions and the potential benefits to the patient from the palliative use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks.
03. Who can write a medical marijuana certification for a patient?
Only qualified physicians can write a medical marijuana recommendation or certification in Connecticut. These physicians must have an active licensed to practice medicine from the Connecticut Department of Health, must practice within the state, have an active control substance registration from Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection that is not subject to limitation, have an active Drug Enforcement Agency controlled substance registration that is also not subject to limitation, and have registered for a CT Prescription Monitoring Program account.
04. How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card?
There is a $100 registration fee for the Connecticut program.
05. Can minors register in the program?
No, applicants must be at least 18 years old.
06. What is the possession limit?
The general limit is 2.5 ounces per month unless a physician indicates a smaller amount.
07. Is registration optional or mandatory?
The Connecticut program requires qualified patients to register prior to the palliative use of medical marijuana.
08. Does the state honor other states' registries?
No, Connecticut has no reciprocity agreements with other states.
09. Can I choose any dispensary or do I have to designate a specific one?
In Connecticut, registered patients designate a single dispensary facility for their medical marijuana needs.
10. Can a physician revoke a patient's written certification?
Yes, Connecticut has a clearly outlined process for a physician to decertify a patient from the medical marijuana program. They must be the physician who certified the patient.
11. How do I renew my card?
Cards must be renewed each year and there is a $100 fee.
12. What happens if I lose my card?
Registered patients and fill out a form to request a new card and submit a $10 payment. See the link below for the form.
13. How does the state law work with federal laws?
It is important to recognize that these state marijuana laws do not change the fact that using marijuana continues to be an offense under Federal law.
14. How can I become a designated caregiver?
To become a caregiver, a qualified patient must identify the caregiver during the registration process. The caregiver must also noted by the recommending physician as necessary. There is a $25 fee for caregiver registration.
15. If I am a designated caregiver, can I grow marijuana?
No, neither patients nor caregivers are authorized to grow marijuana in Connecticut. Only licensed producers can cultivate.
16. Can I be both a qualifying patient and a designated caregiver?
There are no restrictions for caregivers from being able to also register as a qualifying patient.
17. How do dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives work?
Connecticut offers a dispensary medical marijuana program where dispensaries have to apply for a license. Registered patients must select a single licensed dispensaries for their medical marijuana needs. In Connecticut pharmacists must be designated as the facility manager.
18. How many dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives are allowed?
The Department of Consumer Protection outlines the maximum number of licenses allowed in the state to appropriately meet the consumer demands. Currently 6 licenses have been approved.
19. Who can cultivate marijuana?
Only producers licensed by the Department of Consumer Protection will be authorized to cultivate marijuana under the Connecticut Marijuana Program.
20. What rules apply to cultivation facilities?
In Connecticut a minimum of three to a maximum of 10 producer licenses will be issued. Those wishing to cultivate must apply for a license, be reviewed for several criteria and meet various regulations. Please visit the link below for complete information.
Click Here to Visit CT Program Website