Alaska's Medical Marijuana Program allows for qualified patients to cultivate and possess marijuana. Alaska does not have a dispensary program. In 2014, Alaska approved Measure 2 to legalize marijuana. The passing of this measure opens an Alaska Recreational Marijuana program. Recreational marijuana rules should be available around August 2015.
01. What medical conditions will qualify a patient for medical marijuana?
The approved medical conditions for Alaska's medical marijuana program include: cancer, glaucoma, HIV+, or AIDS, epilepsy, and multiple sclerosis. Additionally any chronic or debilitating disease that produces one or more of the following: cachexia, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures, and muscle spasms. Additional conditions maybe be approved by Alaska Department of Health and Social Services.
02. What documentation do I need from the recommending physician to provide with my application?
Patients must fill out the Application for Medical Marijuana Registry which requires name, address, date of birth, and an Alaska driver's license number or identification number. Additionally, a physician's statement form needs to be filled out regarding why the patient may benefit from medical marijuana. Click on the link below for access to the Alaska registry packet.
03. Who can write a medical marijuana certification for a patient?
A physician that is licensed to practice medicine in Alaska can write the required physician's statement. Additionally, an officer in the regular medical service of the U.S. Armed Forces or US Public Health service can write the statement if it correlates to their paid or unpaid services at a medical facility in Alaska.
04. How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card?
The application fee costs $25 or $20 for renewal.
05. Can minors register in the program?
Yes, with the consent of the parent or legal guardian, minors can apply for the registry.
06. What is the possession limit?
The medical marijuana possession limit is 1 usable ounce and six marijuana plants with no more than three mature and flowering plants at any one time.
07. Is registration optional or mandatory?
Registration is mandatory for all patients seeking legal protection under Alaska law.
08. Does the state honor other states' registries?
No, Alaska has no reciprocity agreements with other states.
09. Can I choose any dispensary or do I have to designate a specific one?
There currently is no Alaska Medical Marijuana Dispensary program.
10. Can a physician revoke a patient's written certification?
There is no process outlined for a physician to revoke a patient's certification, however, the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services may revoke a patient's registration if they determine a patient has violated a provision of AS 11.71
11. How do I renew my card?
The same application is used for registry renewals with the "Renewal" box checked at the top right.
12. What happens if I lose my card?
There is no specific process outlined if a card holder loses their card in Alaska. We recommend you contact the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services at 907-465-5423 for information on procedures.
13. How does the state law work with federal laws?
It is important to recognize that these state marijuana laws do not change the fact that using marijuana continues to be an offense under Federal law.
14. How can I become a designated caregiver?
Patients can specify a primary caregiver on their application and the primary caregiver must be at least 21 years or older. The Primary Caregiver Application must be filled out.
15. If I am a designated caregiver, can I grow marijuana?
A caregiver can possess marijuana plants on behalf of the designated patient, but possession limits still apply.
16. Can I be both a qualifying patient and a designated caregiver?
Yes, there are no restrictions for caregivers from being able to also register as a qualifying patient, however, possession limits per person still apply.
17. How do dispensaries, cooperatives and collectives work?
Alaska has no medical marijuana dispensary or collective program outlined. Medical use is limited to qualifying patient's personal use.
18. How many dispensaries are allowed?
Alaska has no medical marijuana dispensary program outlined. Medical use is limited to qualifying patient's personal use.
19. Who can cultivate marijuana?
Patients or their caregivers are allowed to grow medical marijuana only for the patient's private use.
20. What rules apply to cultivation facilities?
Alaska currently does not have a dispensary or cultivation program outlined. Cultivation is limited to personal and private use. See possession limits for plant cultivation limits.
Click Here to Visit AK Program Website