Nevada has a regulated medical marijuana program where businesses must be licensed and approved by the state to dispense marijuana to patients. Patients must register with the state of Nevada for their marijuana card and designate a preferred dispensary to obtain marijuana from. Nevada dispensaries can provide marijuana to out of state card holding patients. Nevada dispensary openings are anticipated for early 2015.
01. What medical conditions will qualify a patient for medical marijuana?
The approved medical conditions for Nevada's medical marijuana program include: cancer, glaucoma, AIDS, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, cachexia, severe muscle spasms, severe nausea, and severe pain.
02. What documentation do I need from the recommending physician to provide with my application?
A physician must complete a recommendation for the program. Patients must submit a form to request an application.
03. Who can write a medical marijuana certification for a patient?
Any Nevada licensed Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy can recommend a patient for the program.
04. How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card?
There is a $25 application fee.
05. Can minors register in the program?
Yes and a minor release form must also be filled out by a parent or legal guardian.
06. What is the possession limit?
The possession limit under the Nevada marijuana program effective April 1, 2014, and through March 31, 2016 is no more than two and one-half ounces of usable marijuana in any one 14-day period; Twelve marijuana plants, irrespective of whether the marijuana plants are mature or immature; and A maximum allowable quantity of edible marijuana products and marijuana-infused products as established by regulation of the Division.
07. Is registration optional or mandatory?
Registration in Nevada is mandatory for patients to receive the protections outlined in the law.
08. Does the state honor other states' registries?
Yes, cardholders from other states receive the same benefits of the law, but to purchase, cardholders must sign an affidavit stating that they are entitled to engage in the medical use of marijuana in their state of residency.
09. Can I choose any dispensary or do I have to designate a specific one?
Nevada requires patients or caregivers to designate a dispensary and the designation cannot be changed more than once every 30 days.
10. Can a physician revoke a patient's written certification?
There is no revocation process outlined for a physician, but registration cards are only valid for one year and require a new physician recommendation for renewal.
11. How do I renew my card?
The same documentation for the initial application is required for renewals. The renewal fee is the same as the application fee of $25.
12. What happens if I lose my card?
A lost card process has not been outlined. Patients should contact the registry at 775-684-4218
13. How does the state law work with federal laws?
It is important to recognize that these state marijuana laws do not change the fact that using marijuana continues to be an offense under Federal law.
14. How can I become a designated caregiver?
Anyone over the age of 18 can be designated by a patient as a caregiver. The caregiver must also fill out a separate application and pay a fee of $25.
15. If I am a designated caregiver, can I grow marijuana?
Yes, a designated caregiver can grow marijuana. Possession limits apply.
16. Can I be both a qualifying patient and a designated caregiver?
There are no restrictions for caregivers from being able to also register as a qualifying patient outlined, please contact the registry for more information.
17. How do dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives work?
Nevada has established a dispensary program where licensed establishments must operate as a non-profit. Patients must designate a particular dispensary.
18. How many dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives are allowed?
Clark county has recently issued 18 applications for dispensaries to open.
19. Who can cultivate marijuana?
Patients, caregivers, and licensed cultivation facilities can cultivate marijuana in Nevada.
20. What rules apply to cultivation facilities?
Several rules apply to cultivation facilities and they must be licensed by the state through an application process. the cultivation must take place in an enclosed and locked facility, plants may be obtained from registered patients, plants and useable marijuana cannot be transported across state lines, and many other rules apply.
Click Here to Visit NV Program Website