Oregon has a regulated medical marijuana program where dispensaries must be approved and licensed by the state to operate. Patients must also be medical marijuana card holders registered with the state of Oregon. The recreational marijuana program which was approved by voters in 2014 will not be fully operational until mid to late 2016.
01. What medical conditions will qualify a patient for medical marijuana?
The approved medical conditions for Oregon's medical marijuana program include: cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, agitation of Alzheimer's disease, PTSD, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, cachexia, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures, persistent muscle spasms.
02. What documentation do I need from the recommending physician to provide with my application?
The recommending physician needs to fill out and submit the Attending Physician's Statement provided. The physician must reference medical records that are dated within the past 3 months.
03. Who can write a medical marijuana certification for a patient?
Only a Oregon licensed Medical Doctor or Doector of Osteopathy can fill out the attending physician statement. An established patient/physician relationship is required.
04. How much will it cost to apply for a registry identification card?
The application fee is $200. Reduced fees for those on food stamps is $60, for those on the Oregon Health plan it is $50 and those on Supplemental Security Income it is $20.
05. Can minors register in the program?
Yes,but a parent or legal guardian must complete and sign a declaration as well allowing a minor to participate in the medical marijuana program.
06. What is the possession limit?
The possession limit is 24 ounces of usable marijuana and 24 plants, six of which can be mature.
07. Is registration optional or mandatory?
Registration is mandatory for the legal protections offered by the state law.
08. Does the state honor other states' registries?
No, Oregon has no reciprocity agreements with other states.
09. Can I choose any dispensary or do I have to designate a specific one?
Registered patients can choose to go to any licensed dispensary in Oregon and present their program card and ID.
10. Can a physician revoke a patient's written certification?
There is no process outlined for a physician to revoke a written recommendation, but registered patients are required to update the registry if their eligibility were to change.
11. How do I renew my card?
There is a $100 renewal fee and an updated physician statement and application must be submitted.
12. What happens if I lose my card?
Registered patients must fill out the change form and pay a fee of $100 to replace a card.
13. How does the state law work with federal laws?
It is important to recognize that these state marijuana laws do not change the fact that using marijuana continues to be an offense under Federal law.
14. How can I become a designated caregiver?
A registered patient must designate their caregiver, if any, on their application form. A copy of the state or federal ID of the caregiver must be provided.
15. If I am a designated caregiver, can I grow marijuana?
Yes, a designated caregiver can grow marijuana on behalf of a patient. The patient must identify the grower and growsite and pay an additional fee. Possession limits apply.
16. Can I be both a qualifying patient and a designated caregiver?
There are no restrictions for caregivers from being able to also register as a qualifying patient outlined, please contact the registry for more information.
17. How do dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives work?
Oregon has a dispensary program where dispensaries must register and be approved by the program. Registered patients can choose to get their medical marijuana from any of the registered dispensaries. Several rules and regulations apply to marijuana dispensaries in Oregon.
18. How many dispensaries, collectives and cooperatives are allowed?
A limit is not outlined, but to date there have been 43 applications approved.
19. Who can cultivate marijuana?
Registered patients, designated caregivers and approved grow site registrants can cultivate marijuana.
20. What rules apply to cultivation facilities?
Grow sites are locations registered by patients who opt to have a third party site responsible for cultivating. The grow site registry card must be displayed at all times and other rules apply including per patient possession limits.
Click Here to Visit OR Program Website