Some states honor reciprocity with other state medical cannabis programs by accepting their medical cannabis cards. But, there is no the common rule yet.
As of early 2018, many states are still wrestling with their recent legislation enabling adult-use cannabis and/or medical cannabis. They are not ignorant of evolving rules in other states, but they must frame theirs with respect to their own constituents. As more states approve, more standardized policies and procedures will come.
Since Alaska permits recreational use for anyone over 21, this is not a problem. Tourists swarm from waiting ships to shop on cannabis piers. But, if you are under 21, you must pay $25 to the Alaska Bureau of Vital Statics: Marijuana Registry with the appropriate application form and a statement from a doctor confirming your health problems. And, if you are under 18, you must complete an application with a driver’s license, parent’s signature, and witness.
The Alaska medical card lets you shop at medical cannabis dispensaries or grow your own.
Tourists can carry 2.5 ounces of cannabis in the state if they have a medical cannabis card proving their registration in their home state. You can use in the state if you follow local law. But, as a visiting medical cannabis patient, you cannot enter an Arizona state-licensed dispensary.
Just about anything goes in California, now that recreational use is permitted. So, it’s no surprise that medical cannabis is now available to any medical cannabis patient over 21 with a government-issued I.D. Adult customers may hold 1 ounce of cannabis flower or 5 grams of concentrate.
Colorado allows adult recreational use, so shopping there presents few problems for tourists. Non-resident adults over 21 can buy and carry 1-ounce at a with a government-issued I.D.
District of Columbia
According to Capital City Care, “The D.C. Council has passed legislation to allow purchases by out-of-state patients, but the new law has not taken effect yet. The D.C. Department of Health is currently working to implement reciprocity and we’re hopeful that sales to out-of-state patients will begin early in 2018.”
Florida does not offer reciprocal relationships with medical cannabis authorization in other states.
The Aloha state hopes to have its medical marijuana procedures in place for 2018. The plan would let out-of-state patients buy medical cannabis if they register with the state.
If you are over 21, you can purchase and possess 2.5 ounces with a valid government-issued I.D. Visiting medical cannabis patients can do the same based on their state-issued medical cannabis card. But you can't carry home across state lines.
Massachusetts approved legalization of medical cannabis in 2013 and hopes to have it up and running in July 2018. The law allows any adults 21 years of age and older to visit in-state cannabis stores and purchase up to an ounce of cannabis flower or 5 grams of concentrate for adults with valid I.D.
The state now permits medical marijuana dispensaries, but they may not accept out-of-state medical cannabis cards at this time.
Michigan residents may possess 2.5 ounces of cannabis. But, even Michigan medical cannabis card holders have faced trouble, probably as the state works out its administration and enforcement practices. Best advice is to transport your own, abide by local laws, and use very discreetly.
Nevada may take the lead in cannabis innovation. Vegas already has a vast drive-thru dispensary, Native Tribes are thinking of creating banking opportunities, and there is talk of permitting consumption in public bars and restaurants.
Any 18-year old may secure a medical marijuana card for Nevada purchase, and medical marijuana dispensaries will accept medical marijuana cards from other states. But, with passage of cannabis legalization, no one needs a medical card. Adult customers may possess 1 ounce for flower or 3.5 grams of concentrates with valid I.D. But, patients with a medical recommendation can have 2.50 ounces of unusealbe cannabis every 14 days.
This rustic forested state is a good neighbor. New Hampshire accepts medical cannabis registrations and recommendations from other states. The possession limit is 2 ounces, and your medical need must also be acceptable on New Hampshire’s list of approved medial conditions.
However, while you may possess cannabis, you may not shop at local medical cannabis dispensaries.
It’s not easy or cheap getting medical cannabis in New York. The application process is complicated, and the dispensary resources limited. There is no provision to accept out-of-state registrants.
Oregon has been at this for a long time. And, with adult-use permitted, there is not much problem in possession. Any adult over 21 with valid I.D. may possess 1-ounce cannabis flower, 16 ounces infused edibles, or 73 ounces infused liquids.
PA law reads, “Under the Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Act, patients who are residents of the commonwealth and have a serious medical condition as certified by a physician will be able to obtain medical marijuana at dispensaries that are located in the commonwealth and have a validly-issued permit from the department.”
The Keystone State does not provide protections for visiting medical cannabis patients. But, it does permit parents and guardians to obtain medical cannabis from another approved state if it is to be administered to a minor.
Even locals cannot carry loose cannabis leaf in Pennsylvania although they may have a 30-day supply of dry leaf for vaporization, oils, pills, tinctures, or topical creams.
Medical cannabis dispensaries in Rhode Island will not accept an out-of-state medical cannabis registry card. However, it does permit the visitors to carry the same 2.5 ounces of cannabis permitted to Rhode Island citizens. So, you can use it there, but you cannot buy it there.
Vermont law allows out-of-state residents to secure a Vermont issued medical marijuana card, but they must be diagnosed by a Vermont physician. They also permit non-resident patients to use out-of-state registry cards for medical conditions already listed as approved in Vermont.
The second state to legalize adult-use cannabis, Washington defines policy for others. Any adult over 21 may possess the same limits as Oregonians. It does not respect out-of-state registry cards, but it allows medical cannabis patients with a valid doctor’s prescription to have 24 ounces of marijuana and grow up to 15 plants.
The remaining states with legal medical cannabis sales and possession do not accept out-of-state medical cannabis cards. And, none of them seem moving in that direction, perhaps, because of the newness of it all or the political climate at the Department of Justice.